Acheta protein is cricket-based protein used similarly to pea protein or whey protein, but with a more well rounded nutrition profile and far smaller environmental footprint.
While not a common allergen, Acheta Protein comes from the same family tree as shellfish and crustaceans. So if you have an allergy to shellfish or crustaceans, you might be sensitive to Acheta.
Acheta Domesticus are grown for food in farms around the world. The ones used to make our Acheta Protein come from leading farms in North America.
People are vegetarians for many different reasons ranging from environmental impact, health, texture, and animal welfare. Though technically from the animal kingdom, many people consider Acheta and other insects as vegetarian because it solves for many of the reasons people choose to be vegetarian in the first place. There most definitely vegetarians that eat Hoppy Planet snacks, but ultimately the decision is a personal one that we leave up to you!
Acheta Protein is made from animals, so it is not vegan.
Acheta Protein is high in protein and contains vital nutrients which are especially important for growing kids! It is completely safe to feed to children on a regular basis.
It depends on your interpretation. Insects have jointed legs and hop on the ground which could classify them as Kosher. Acheta Protein, however, is not officially certified as kosher.
It depends on which school of Islam you follow. For some, so long as the insects are not eaten alive then they are halal. For others, since crickets are in the same family as grasshoppers, and grasshoppers are halal, then crickets are too. However, in other schools of Islam consuming any insects is prohibited.
Whey protein is a bi-product of dairy, and so comes from cows. This means it has a large negative environmental impact when produced, might not be suitable for people with dairy allergies or sensitivities, and may not be vegetarian friendly. Acheta protein comes from crickets, and producing a gram of Acheta protein has a 99% smaller environmental impact than a gram of whey. Acheta protein also contains more iron, B12, and calcium than whey. Additionally, Acheta is Dairy Free, so it’s a great alternative for people with sensitivities, and most consider it to be vegetarian.
Acheta Protein contains all 9 essential amino acids while soy protein does not. Acheta also contains more iron, B12, and calcium than soy protein. It is also a great soy-free alternative for those that need it.
Acheta Protein contains all 9 essential amino acids while pea protein does not. Acheta also contains more iron, B12, and calcium than pea protein.
Didn't find the answers you were looking for? Just email us at email@example.com